EPP Congress in Zagreb: Highlights of the Second Day

The European People’s Party has concluded day-2 of the XXVI EPP Congress in Zagreb. Today’s plenary session featured addresses of the EPP’s EU heads of State and government, Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament Manfred Weber, as well as party and opposition leaders.

The EPP Congress delegates also debated how the party can take the lead in the fight against climate change by implementing sustainable policies.  After the debate, a resolution on climate action was adopted.

  • Resolution ‘EPP vision for a sustainable planet’

The resolution can be found here: https://zagreb2019.epp.eu/documentation/

The newly elected EPP President Donald Tusk committed to five youth pledges as proposed and voted on by the delegates. These pledges demonstrate the party’s commitment to engaging young people and making sure their voice is heard.

The pledges can be found here: http://epptalks.myepp.eu/home/ 

Following the proposal of the incoming president, the Congress delegates today re-elected Secretary General Antonio López-Istúriz.

The delegates also elected the ten EPP Vice-Presidents and the Treasurer.

The new and complete EPP Presidency will therefore be comprised of:

Donald Tusk, Civic Platform, Poland

Secretary General:
Antonio López-Istúriz, Partido Popular, Spain

Vice-Presidents: (in order of the number of votes received)
Mariya Gabriel, GERB, Bulgaria
David McAllister, CDU, Germany
Helen McEntee, Fine Gael, Ireland

Johannes Hahn, ÖVP, Austria

Esther De Lange, CDA, Netherlands

Antonio Tajani, Forza Italia, Italy

Siegfried Mureșan, PNL, Romania

Franck Proust, Les Républicains, France

Paulo Rangel, PSD, Portugal

Petteri Orpo, Kokoomus, Finland


Christian Schmidt, CSU, Germany

Coverage and photos of the two-day Congress can be found at:
Twitter: http://twitter.epp.eu
Flickr: http://flickr.epp.eu

The website of the Congress can be found at: https://zagreb2019.epp.eu/