Ivan ŠTEFANEC

Slovakia, KDH
VIEW ALL CANDIDATES
Ivan Stefanec

I was born in 1961 in the Slovak town of Považská Bystrica. After the fall of the Iron Curtain in 1989, as one of the first citizens of the former Czechoslovakia, I took the opportunity to study modern management practices and successfully graduated MBA studies. I later completed my education at the Rochester Institute of Technology in New York and the University of Economics in Bratislava. In the early 1990s, I worked for successful global brands that just established themselves in Central and Eastern Europe as Ernst & Young CS Consulting and Coca-Cola. At Coca-Cola, I worked as CEO for Slovakia and later as Director for European Integration for Central European countries.

In 2006, I was elected to the National Council of the Slovak Republic, where I worked until 2014. As Chairman of the Committee on European Affairs, I supported the full integration of Slovakia into European structures. In 2014, I was elected to the European Parliament where, to this day, I am an active member of the Committee on Internal Market and Consumer Protection (IMCO). In 2019, I was re-elected as a Member of the European Parliament. I am a member of KDH (Christian Democratic Movement) and member of the Board of KDH.

As Vice-President of the EPP, I would like to contribute with my knowledge that I have gained during my professional and political career, but also with the experience and perspective of a citizen of a smaller Central European country. I would like to focus on a better cooperation between national and European public administration and bring closer the objectives and EPP policies to European citizens. During my MEP mandate, I have been meeting citizens regularly and hold discussions with young people in schools. My private and political actions are motivated and inspired by my Roman Catholic faith and Christian values. As Vice-President of the EPP, I would continue promoting and supporting small and medium-sized enterprises, also as President SME Europe, the development and consolidation of the European Single market and the digital economy.

I am happily married for 36 years, I have two adult children and one granddaughter. In addition to my work, I do sports, especially running and cycling, and I have been involved in several cross-country competitions, including the New York Marathon.